Athlete Awards Night Recognising Local Talent

On Friday 8 September Castle Hill RSL Club played host to the Academy’s athletes, athlete families and VIP guests for the 13th Annual Athlete Dinner & Awards Night. With special guest speakers Kristina Brice (former Academy netballer and current Giants Netball Goal Shooter), Julie Fitzgerald (Giants Netball Head Coach) and Briony Akle (former Academy coach and newly appointed NSW Swifts Head Coach) the panel of speakers were familiar and warm as they addressed the audience with humour, a wealth of knowledge and some different perspectives on professional sport and what it takes to become an elite athletes – something all our athletes in the room would have found relevant!

Throughout the night each program was acknowledged and an athlete from each program was awarded with the Athlete of the Year award. The Academy was proud to acknowledge and thank Catherine Phillips (Netball Assistant Coach) and Ryan Knowles (Hockey Head Coach) for five years of service to the Academy.

The night culminated in the presentation of the Team Athlete of the Year and Woolworths Scholarship winners. The Team Athlete of the Year award is presented to an athlete within one of the team-based squads who is the highest achiever. Thanks to Woolworths each year we are able to award the highest achieving male and female athlete each with a $5,000 cash scholarship to assist in the costs of representative sport and education. A list of award winners follow…


Athlete of the Year Awards:

Cycling Athlete of the Year: Timothy Spackman

Netball Athlete of the Year: Lauren Woods

Softball Athlete of the Year: Callista Gatt

AFL Athlete of the Year: Cameron Edwards

Golf Athlete of the Year: Joshua Gadd

Hockey Athlete of the Year: Tristan Potts

Major Awards:

Team Athlete of the Year: Shaylan Whatman (Softball)

Woolworths Scholarshiip Female Athlete: Ashleigh Hill (Heartland Motors Lone Star – Karate)

Woolworths Scholarship Male Athlete: Joshua Brodie (Cycling)


Congratulations to all our winners and thank you to all the Academy’s supporters that made the night such a great success.


Posted: 12 September 2017